Book Review 1

I was a very lucky girl for my birthday – one of my gifts was a gift voucher to Amazon.co.uk.  Given that reading books are easily borrowed from our library or picked up cheaply from our local hospice shop, I thought it would be a good opportunity to build up my knitting library a little more.  The voucher in pounds went a rather long way, so I’ll split up the reviews of the books over several posts so that you don’t get overwhelmed, and so that I have something to post about.

For today, I’ll post about my favourite of the books I bought, which is New England Knits by Cecily Glowick MacDonald and Melissa LaBarre.

 

I ordered this sight unseen, just going on what I knew of Melissa LaBarre’s designs, and I am really happy that I did.  It is a beautifully presented book, really evocative of the New England area, and has lovely photography.  And all of that in addition to the 25 knitting patterns.

Many of the patterns are for tunics, sweaters of hoodies – in fact that takes care of 18 patterns. There are also a number of accessories – two hats, a bag, gloves, a cowl, and even a skirt.  I adore the sweater on the cover, and also the Providence Hoodie, below.

 

This tunic, the Greylock tunic,  looks fun, for those who are enjoying warmer weather than we are.

Perhaps this cardigan might be my first knit from the book though:

This is the Greenfield Cardigan, and I love its simple lines and cute leaf detail. 

You can see it’s knit in garter stitch – excellent for the lazy knitters or as an in-between project, and DK weight yarn is readily available here, so I might check out my stash to see what it offers.

I do have a decided preference for LaBarre’s designs – although that was the case before I bought the book too, so that’s no surprise. She designed several things I have knit in the past, including the Garter Yoke Cardigan and the Tea Leaves cardigan which is currently awaiting a FO photo. She also designs super cute hats, and I knit a couple of her Crooked Paths berets earlier this year.  So, if you like to knit seamless garments from the top down, usually with a yoke rather than raglan increases, you might well like this book as much as I do – certainly a good buy!

10 Responses to “Book Review 1”


  1. 1 Renee July 21, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Awesome patterns

  2. 2 Caffeine Girl July 22, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Oh, that does look like a good book. I especially like the first sweater you showed. I really need to learn to knit sweaters!

  3. 3 Heather July 22, 2010 at 3:15 am

    I’ve heard great things about this book, good choice and what a great present!

  4. 4 Sara July 22, 2010 at 3:37 am

    One more book in the amazon basket. 🙂

  5. 5 Tamsin July 22, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Oh my! The urge to roll up my jeans and stick my feet in a rock pool whilst wearing a chunky cardigan is almost overwhelming!

    One more for the amazon wish list in my case 🙂

  6. 6 Sharonnz July 22, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Ooooooh…that’s the book top of my knitting wish list atm!

  7. 7 sarah July 22, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Yay – thanks for the review, that’s in my wish list too 😉

  8. 8 Virginia July 22, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. So excited!

  9. 9 WorstedKnitt July 22, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Beautiful! I really like that last cardigan too.


  1. 1 So, last year… « Shortly Stitches Trackback on February 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

