Idyllic Days

For no apparent reason, there are some days that are just so lovely. Yesterday was like that. It started cold and crisp – not a frost, but close to it.  The sky was blue, reaching right across the sky and the mountain was visible, covered still in its winter white coat. I put on a beret as I hung out a load of washing, grateful for the time to put it out, and the knowledge it would dry on such a splendid day.

I work as a secondary teacher, part time on a rotating six day timetable. Effectively it means I start an hour later every second day, and twice every six days I get to finish early. Yesterday was a late start and an early finish. Bliss. I got to potter around getting the house tidy, two loads of washing out, nappies folded, rubbish out, beds made, all without a rush. And all the while two fairies played, chatted, snuggled (hard with fairy wings), and chilled in front of morning TV. 

After work it was time to pick up the girls who needed naps but wanted to play. Ten or so stories later they were both snuggled up and I could finally have lunch and knit a few rows. More bliss.  And then it was time for some study, a little time with DS when he got home from school, and I put on some bread dough. 

Dinner was homemade burgers, chicken for us and Felafel for DH.  I so love dinners everyone eats! And then knitting night – I turned up to find that the person who I had helped cast on her first ever sock the week before had completed one pair of toddler socks, one child sock and was just casting on sock number four. Dessert and knitting with friends, yarn in hand, the sound of chatter and knitting needles all around me.

Yesterday was perfect.

Today has been pretty awesome too – work early, enrolled my lad at high school which he will start in February, home to work on my study, and then back to work for the last class, to discover I’ve been assigned a teacher aide for this lesson which is awesome!  Add in a delightful interlude in the garden planting some passionfruit vines I scored for 50 cents each on the weekend, and watching the girls playing outside, and today has been delightful too.

It might be winter, but the days are getting longer, and warmer. On days like we have had, I feel the promise of spring in the air.

3 Responses to “Idyllic Days”


  1. 1 Virginia August 12, 2010 at 2:40 am

    That sounds like an awesome day! I really enjoyed reading about your perfect day… thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 nova August 12, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    awwww sounds awesome!! (love the hat!)

  3. 3 sarah August 13, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Lovely post, Sheryl. Reading about your day has really lifted my mood.
    Sarah


Leave a Reply

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,291 hits

