Benji at the beach

I’m really pleased to announce that my new pattern Benji is loaded up  and ready for sale.  It has been in testing for the last couple of weeks and I got such great feedback from my fabulous test knitters – it saw an extra couple of sizes being added to the pattern, and some instructions for making a custom fit beanie, because despite what some patterns would have you believe, one size really doesn’t fit ‘all’ very well! 

I have knit five of these in different sizes while I was developing the pattern- Miss 2’s above was knit first, and is a little tight – moving up a needle size didn’t change the gauge but it does change the way the fabric behaves – so, I really recommend you use 4.5mm needles for a more flexible fabric. 

Miss 3’s was knit next. I adore the 100Purewool yarn – the hats for all us girls are in this yarn – this is the undyed and the Quebracho. Delicious, and topped with a Buttons By Benjii button it’s really popular with its owner.  In fact the fourth hat I knit is indentical except in Newborn size, for her not-so-anatomically-correct baby doll.  I didn’t photograph this one yet because it’s minus its button. I *know* I have one more from this set somewhere, but the *where* is currently alluding me.

And then one for me…

In Chocolate and (I think) Lust.  I love it – I think this may be the first beanie I’ve ever owned. Certainly I’ve not been a fan before, but it fits well and is super soft and really warm.  I’ll definitely be getting lots of wear out of it.

And the final version was the man-sized one. The Robot button was custom made for me – a gift from Nicci at Buttons by Benji.  The yarn is John Q Heathers – and it took just a smidge over 1 ball (thank goodness for another ball in the stash!) and the variegated yarn is some Wool Company Seaweed.   Heathers is not the softest of yarns, but it passes Dh’s scratch test, so that’s good.  And another good fit 🙂

All these pictures were taken today at Oakura beach. Sundays are, for us, usually a family day. Sometimes it includes visits to friends, fortnightly we visit the library, and sometimes we just hang out at home. Today Miss 3 suggested we went to the beach. She dressed herself in short shorts and a t-shirt with a long-sleeved shirt underneath. The sun was shining in through the conservatory, warming the house up. She suggested she pack her togs. Despite the fact she is ready for summer, and it was a beautiful day, there is no denying the fact it’s still winter here. She was amenable to suggestions of warmer clothes and we packed a snack and headed off. I packed lots of beanies for a quick photoshoot while everyone played. DS made a hut out of driftwood, the girls found tiny shells and threw sticks into the river.  Everyone wrote (or ‘wrote’) messages in the sand. And eventually we all packed off home, tired and hungry. Miss 3 commented in the car “We came to the beach because I thought of it.”  And what it brilliant idea it was. Thanks sweetie!

8 Responses to “Benji at the beach”


  1. 1 thea August 23, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Lovely hats. You’ve paired such beautiful colors together – and the buttons are perfetc!

  2. 2 Sam August 23, 2010 at 9:06 am

    oh they look lovely Sheryl … buttons match perfectly cute!

  3. 3 Rebecca August 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

    What gorgeous hats and luscious colours. I will have to have a look at getting the pattern, I love the idea of one for dolly too. Well done!

  4. 4 Heather August 23, 2010 at 11:36 am

    oh shortly, i LOVE your pattern. it looks so great on all you. another success!

  5. 5 nova August 23, 2010 at 11:41 am

    they’re fantastic!!

  6. 6 Virginia August 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    The hats are great! I like all of them.

    And your sand is black. COOL!


  1. 1 ~ Benji Hat ~ « ~~ ChevGirl ~~ Trackback on September 3, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,090 hits

