Springtime!

The first day of Spring dawned bright and sunny here. The sky was blue. I suspiciously looked for dark clouds on the horizon, and failing to find any, I put out washing on the line before work, knowing it would be hours before I was back, no hope of rescuing it if the weather changed. And when I arrived home, it was dry. No stray showers or unpredicted breaks in the weather happened. The first day of Spring was like that here. 

I took the opportunity to wander around our garden taking some first day of Spring pictures – promise of new life everywhere.

And it’s not just the flower garden that’s feeling productive. We have also got lots of action in the vegetable patch. We’ve been feasting on homegrown broccoli for a month or so now, and I’ve discovered that the plants enthusiastic side shoots can grow large enough for a meal for our family too…

This cauli opened up its leaves and look what was hiding inside, perfectly formed.

Planted last month, the early potatoes are doing their thing, and although my mother brought me up right, I do like broad beans (as do the whole family!!) so they have had a good start too. (We were brought up to believe broad beans were a special kind of torture. I remember once having to look after a pack of frozen broad beans for my auntie, and much was made of having them in the house! Luckily they didn’t taint everything else in the freezer…)

Asparagus is sprouting too, although they are still young plants so I’m leaving it be for now (oh, how great the temptation though!) The Rhubarb is poking through the ground too. Leeks are fattening up, strawberries starting to flower, and the blueberries are starting to flower too. Oh how I love Spring.

And then today, the rain fell. In bucket loads. The electric blankets are on, the gas heater on full, the wind blew. Spring is a changeable season, and while we look forward to the promise of the warmer weather, the longer days, the gardening and hours spent out of doors, I need to remember that it will be tempered with colder spells. With rain. With all of the unpredicability that comes with living on Aotearoa’s west coast. Taranaki didn’t get to be this green without the rain! And so, while I look forward to the warm days, I will be content with the promise of more to come. After all, if Spring arrived with a vengeance too quickly, I’d never get to wear my ever so slowly progressing Alpaca Tunic this year, would I?

2 Responses to “Springtime!”


  1. 1 Judy September 3, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Argh. They’re called Fava Beans here in the US, sis. And I was horrified to find them in my frozen mixed veges this week!

    Nice looking vege garden! Ours was a disaster here this year.

  2. 2 Virginia September 3, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Nice! The first signs of spring are so awesome. And welcome.

    We’re gearing up for fall here. I say “gearing” even though it is REALLY REALLY hot here right now. And we’re supposed to have a hurricane tomorrow. yay.


Leave a Reply

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

