Lemon!

You won’t find me *wearing* the colour yellow in any shade. In fact, this year I got assigned to the yellow house at school and I just sneak in wearing red and hoping no one will notice.  (Given I’ve been in the red house six or so years, I think it’s kind of expected of me to wear red…) We have, however, been eating  a lot of yellow lately. Lemon in fact.

We have two lemon trees.  Already well established when we bought our house, they are consistently productive croppers – until last year that is. So they got the royal treatment – leaves picked off and taken to the local garden centre to diagnose their malaise, and then the appropriate treatment. They have rewarded us in kind this year with their most prolific crop yet. In fact, the smaller of the two trees has such a heavy crop some of its branches are nearly touching the ground.

Our usual trick is to leave the crop on the tree, picking it as needed – this is the ultimate storage system, as it keeps us in lemons year-round. We exchange lemons with our next door neighbour for grapes off his vines, with our friends who give us feijoas from their trees, and gift them to any unsuspecting visitor or houseguest who displays the slightest interest…  Nice of us, eh?  I’ve also been trying to use them productively in our diet to make the most of them. So here’s three of our favourite ways to eat lemons.

1. Lemon Muffins.

Delicious with a cup of Earl Grey tea and a handful of almonds…  My usual base recipe livened up with the juice of two lemons, and grated lemon rind. Mmmm.

2. Lemon Cordial

A childhood favourite, I was able to track down a recipe online for this drink concentrate. Yummy! The kids like it, and DH appears to be addicted.  I even sent along some ingredients to preschool for the kids to help make up. Yep, palming off more lemons to unsuspecting others. Cunning, eh!

3. Lemon Meringue Pie

Oh my, this is yummy! I can hardly believe I’ve never made it before (Well, I can recall one disastrous attempt in my teens, but I’ll blame that on my sister).  I used the recipe from the Edmond’s Cookbook as it only used 3 eggs in total, so it seemed economical. However it isn’t as sickly rich and sweet as I remember this pie being, so I suspect it really does need an excessive number of eggs for that extra-rich taste. Not that we need it, but it’d be fun to experiment with other recipes when we are done eating up this pie. 

So if you’re passing my place, maybe you should stop in for a little lemon overload!

And thus end today’s post, bought to you by the letter L and the number 3 🙂

6 Responses to “Lemon!”


  1. 1 Virginia October 4, 2010 at 1:26 am

    I’m so jealous. I would love to have lemons in my yard.

    My husband and I have started to use lemon juice and rind in everything…

    Mac and cheese with a touch of blue cheese in it, with lemon rind grated in.

  2. 2 Amybel October 4, 2010 at 5:49 am

    After yesterday’s post I was expecting Big Bird and Elmo. I love the lemons! How about lemon cake? Or lemon bars. Or lemon ice, with your weather warming up around there :).
    If I was closer I’d surely be helping to lighten your lemon load!

  3. 3 Sam October 4, 2010 at 8:50 am

    YUM! … pitty that wasn’t knitting night haha (jokes 😉 )

  4. 4 Julia aka j-j October 4, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Oh that all looks delicious Sheryl! Lucky you with your lemon trees!

  5. 5 Angela October 4, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I have a very yummy recipe for lemon bars (shortbready/biscuity base with a custardy/tangy-lemon topping..). SO yum! Let me know if you want the recipe.

  6. 6 Kylie October 4, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Yumm Lemons. I have a strawberry overload here at the moment. Have just made Strawberry yoghurt, Gelato and Sorbet.


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,537 hits

