Oversized Buttons

I went button shopping today, looking for a button for my Turmeric sweater. It requires just one oversized button. This is apparently a huge ask.  I had three rather unsatisfactory selections to choose from, and this is what I chose. And saved the receipt… Somehow I just don’t think it’s going to suit.

I was thinking funky – maybe pewter, or plain mother of pearl at the very least.  Something lighter in colour to go with the subtle tones of the yarn. But, aside from nasty plastic, this was basically my only choice.

Tomorrow I’m headed into Faded Fancy, which stocks retro stuff, a real treasure trove of antique bits and pieces, but if they don’t have anything then I’m a bit stumped.

So, does anyone have any suggestions of where I could find a funky oversized button to suit? I’m happy to do a bit of online shopping if only I knew where to look 🙂

8 Responses to “Oversized Buttons”


  1. 1 Virginia October 6, 2010 at 12:39 am

    I am having button issues. You know, living in NYC, you’d think it would be easier to find them, but…

    All of the button stores I’ve been to lately are charging insane amounts of money – $3 USD per button. Not per pack. PER BUTTON.

    I need 12 buttons to finish off a sweater. This is getting expensive.

  2. 2 lahmalo October 6, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Have you checked out Still Quilting/Still Knitting? They have a button jar behind the counter that has some great big buttons.

  3. 4 Sam October 6, 2010 at 8:33 am

    hmmmmmmmm i’m thinking custom made

    theres that shell place out oakura they may be able to help

    or failing that look necklace wise for a shell and drill two holes?

  4. 5 Sarah October 6, 2010 at 8:39 am

    How about using an old brooch? I have some big buttons, but they’re all plastic. I’ll double check the button box though.

  5. 6 Vicki October 6, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Have you tried TradeMe?

    • 7 Sarah Hill October 7, 2010 at 7:45 am

      Hey Sheryl,

      I have about 8 button I have found that MAY work with your jersey, I know what it’s like when there is something in particular that you are after. I have a bit of a button stash that I got passed on again from Jared’s late Nana, so they are all definitely vintage and one or two of kind. I can bring them to knitting next Tuesday or you can pop around whenever and have a look. I am out until mid-afternoon today but I can leave them with Jared if you want to come have a look.

      Hope it helps!

  6. 8 Anthea October 17, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Nic from Benji Buttons does custom buttons – you could ask her? Or would it be too heavy in polymer clay?


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 339,087 hits

