Day 10: Finally A FO!

It has been just over two weeks in the making, but I am delighted that I have finally finished my Turmeric t-shirt.

I cast on just before the school holidays began. In fact they began a little early for me, if you count taking a sick day to look after your chicken-poxy child a ‘holiday’.  Strangely enough my holidays are ending with more of the same – not casting on another Turmeric, but another child all chicken-poxy.  DH is staying home tomorrow to look after  her, but the chances are I’ll be taking some time off work this week as well. Anyway, you will have to excuse the terrible FO pics for now – hopefully we will get a chance to take some better ones when the small poxy dictator allows us out of her sight long enough to take some outdoor shots. For now these are taken in the bathroom since it had lights bright enough for night-time photography.

Anyway, back to the knitting… I chose a 48 inch size, as it was recommended to go for positive ease rather than neutral or negative ease. This has resulted in a very relaxed fit in the final garment. It is possibly a bit looser around the middle than I’d normally choose.  The shaping at before the bottom band brings the top back in to shape again. The neckline also sits nicely, with the arms being a good fit too, all in all this allows the top to fit flatteringly, rather than just being baggy.

The knitting of something knit almost entirely in stocking stitch is never going to be difficult. Let’s be honest.  This was more of an endurance test than an ability one.  You need to know how to knit, knit garter stitch in the round, and increase. That’s about it.  So this is totally suitable for a beginner knitter.  There is, however, a lot of knitting in a 4ply adult garment.  The finished garment used 283g of Vintage Purls sock yarn, in the colour Tatiana.  This is knit to a lofty fabric on 4mm needles, and it is lovely light piece that I hope to get lots of wear out of in the next few months. I felt very virutous knitting this from stash. I bought a third skein to finish it, but used two of the non-superwash skeins of VP that I had in my stash for this.  Unfortunately they are not all perfectly matched and I didn’t alternate skeins. You can see the difference in this shot, but it’s not glaringly obvious when you see it, which I am grateful for.

Others in the Vintage Purls knitalong are still knitting away, and if you’re on Ravelry you can check out their progress here.  Some are being a lot more adventurous than I was – lots are working in lace weight yarn. Some are even doing a garment in a lace pattern in lace weight.  More power to them, can’t wait to see their FOs too 🙂

4 Responses to “Day 10: Finally A FO!”


  1. 1 hannah October 11, 2010 at 8:33 am

    wow it looks beautiful sheryl! well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Virginia October 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

    It’s REALLY beautiful. Looks great on you, too.

    Sorry about all the chicken pox. Do you all not have the vaccine for it yet, or did you opt out?

    I’m still a little weirded out that my kiddo won’t ever have the chicken pox. It was such a right of passage for kids when I was growing up.

  3. 3 KathyR October 11, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Excellent work! It looks really great! I’m still plugging away at my KAL – Geodesic in laceweight. One day it’ll be finished too.

  4. 4 Monique October 12, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Ohhh that came out great Sheryl! might have to add that one to my list 🙂

    Getting near the end of my wispy in lace finally


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

