#11: More swapsies

I have to confess to not posting this earlier just so I would have a post up my sleeve for  some time when I hadn’t much to say – and it looks like today is the lucky day.  I posted last week about our swap night and didn’t have any pictures of the swap that I’d put together thanks to my camera being unreliable.  Must be operator error as it’s still happily snapping away now.

Anyway, my theme was Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, and this is the yarn I dyed up:

Image

It was so much fun working on the swap – I’ve been quite swamped with work lately so it’s been great to have some special things to look foward to.  Speaking of work, the holidays are up and I headed back into work today. DH stayed home to look after our poxy princess who is feeling much better.  Virginia asked about the vaccinations  – the Chickenpox vaccine isn’t on the schedule here – I know it is in Australia, and while you can pay extra to get it, we ran into a small complication – I had Misses 2 and 4 booked in for the shots and they got exposed at preschool before I could get them done. Because they are off-schedule they didn’t have any in stock and it was too late. And Miss 4, while she didn’t catch it initially, was not able to get the shot after that as she had her other 4yo ones done and apparently you have to either get them done at the same time, or wait a month.  So, it’s saved us a bit of money in one way, but cost us sick leave… You can’t really win can you?  I’m super lucky I’ve got a brave pair of girls 🙂  Hopefully Miss 4 is off to spend the day with some friends who have already had the pox tomorrow, so both DH and I get to head into work.  It’s such a busy time of year to take time off but needs must and she is such fun to spend time with. DH and she had such great fun today they forgot to go to her doctor’s appointment!

I called it “The Poisioned Apple” . More of a Pink Lady apple than a Braeburn, but there you go. Apparently the recipient’s own 4yo pink princess has claimed it for herself already.

The gifts were linked to Snow White’s physical characteristics- her mother apparently wished for a daughter with skin as white as snow (what better gift than organic white chocolate?), lips as red as blood (I couldn’t *not* get this cute wee box from Trade Aid) and hair as black as ebony (a cute and useful tape measure).  Here’s the gift together.

Image

3 Responses to “#11: More swapsies”


  1. 1 Angela October 12, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I made the loaf and it turned out great! Thanks again for the recipe 🙂

  2. 2 Celeritas October 12, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Can I just say that Snow White is scary and the characteristics her Mum wants for her are terrifying. “I demand the perfect Aryan seductress”

    *Runs

    Love swap package though 🙂

  3. 3 Virginia October 14, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Loving the package! That yarn color is lovely.

    And man, I’m sorry you all didn’t get the vaccine, but it sounds like your kiddos are bearing up well.

    When I was a kid everybody’s parents would drag their kids over to the house of a kid who had chicken pox so that they could catch it and get it over with early.


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 340,674 hits

