#13 Outside and In

Today was another ‘home day’, and while my poxy princess was napping (and her younger sister wasn’t…) I headed outdoors to the vege patch. It is very blowy today, and I was disappointed to find my new greenhouse was not holding up to the winds.  I rescued some seedlings that were overturned, and planted some out before putting in my main crop of potatoes – the early ones are looking like they are nearly ready to harvest already. Good! I’m going to need their space for other things before too long!  On my way back through with the hose I spotted some leeks that were looking deliciously plump, and I started to form a plan for a leek and spinach tart for dinner. Yummy!  I love having a productive vegetable patch – instant inspiration.

Inside the house I’ve  finally cast on a sock (being Socktoberfest and all!).  Using my newly wound purple Knitsch yarn, I have been working on my new sock pattern, which is proceeding with the minimum of frogging so far.  The colour in this yarn is really a lot more like a cadbury’s wrapper purple than the screen shows – a delicious squooshy semi solid, gorgeous to knit up.  A certain two year old has her eye on the leftovers too. 🙂

2 Responses to “#13 Outside and In”


  1. 1 Vicki October 14, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Sorry about your greenhouse! Mine blew over too, and I lost a lot of seedlings (the weather was too crappy to even go outside to rescue them). Mum and Dad have secured theirs to a fence – something I should do too.

  2. 2 Anne October 14, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Oooh that yarn is delicious! I do like purple and green together also- the photos go well together 😉


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

