Knitter’s ADD?

I’m not sure if there is such a diagnosis, but I think it’s entirely possible that I have Knitter’s Attention Deficit Disorder.

The symptoms are this:

* Number of projects on the go is constantly increasing rather than decreasing

* Time spent thinking about knitting and new projects increases exponentially

* Time spent on Ravelry looking at new patterns increases exponentially

* Time spent contemplating stashed yarns and what to do with them increases markedly

* Number of knitting needles out out on their assigned places and flung into knitting basket grows to epidemic proportions as there seems little point in putting back something you might need for another project very soon

* Number of items worked on in one day exceeds three. And then you think about casting on another one.

Oh dear, if these are the symptoms, I think I’ve got it bad! 

Did I miss any that you’re suffering from? Or am I suffering this condition alone?

8 Responses to “Knitter’s ADD?”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl October 18, 2010 at 1:19 am

    LOL! And I’m sure you aren’t alone. I suffer from all those symptoms! Another symptom is certainly yarn enhancement — buying yarn for worthy new projects faster than you can knit them up!

  2. 2 Miss Marty October 18, 2010 at 4:15 am

    Knitter’s ADD also is knitters Add. It is the nature of the beast, we creative people just keep adding as we go. Nothing to worry about. The bright side is that it justifies the stash…………see it is in use. Enjoy your day.

  3. 3 Judy October 18, 2010 at 5:59 am

    I think it’s a fair diagnosis. I’ve been worried about you for some time now LOL

  4. 5 Rachelle October 18, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Learning to spin so you can add more yarn to the stash and then knit it up; however handspun takes longer to find the perfect project for so in the meantime you cast on something else; the moment you do the perfect pattern is found and you cast on that too!

  5. 6 Lynlee October 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    can I add another symptom – not being able to sleep at night b/c one is thinking about all the knitting projects one will do for Christmas presents.

  6. 7 sarah October 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Oh dear, I think I have it too! Getting worse by the day, is it a burst of spring energy?

  7. 8 Lina October 19, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I think almost every knitter goes through this at least once (if not much more often!) in their knit-lives. I know I certainly do! 🙂


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

