#18 It’s not just me who is knitting obsessed

Well, meyKADD buddies, nice to see some of you coming out of the woodwork. Thanks for putting your knitting needles long enough to comment 🙂 Those of you that did…

Rachelle commented that spinning is yet another symptom of knitter’s ADD… I have to confess that there’s a lovely bunch of spinners in my local knitting group who produce tempting yarns for us to admire. They also show off the most stunning batts of fibre in tempting combinations of fibres. But I just can’t help thinking of all the knitting that they are missing out on when they are spinning.

Anyway, I digress. I wanted to show you a lovely book that we picked up at the library this past Sunday.  It’s a children’s book called Milo Armadillo by Jan Fearnley.  Now, to set the context: we visit the library fortnightly on a Sunday. Sundays are cruisy days for us. It’s my appointed sleep in day, and the instant I get up I get smothered in cuddles and demands to make pancakes. Pancakes despatched the girls are usually full of fun but eventually we get shoes and socks on and away we go.  The library is in the centre of our small town, but so are many churches and parking is at a premium. It was raining here this Sunday and after circling the block a couple of times we settled for a P30 park right in front of the library.  After just one right up the two-storey escalator and down the steps, the girls went with Daddy downstairs to the children’s section while I selected my books. When I got to the basement I discovered… the children’s section had been turned into a stage for Indian dancers!

But they hadn’t started yet. 

I got ‘permission’ from the librarian to pop in and choose some books. Usually it’s a leisurely activity, but this visit was rather rushed as I didn’t have a sari, any ankle bells, and I certainly didnt’ know the steps! Plus my car park would run out…

So, I hurriedly selected a handful of books, some old favourites and some by familiar authors. But Milo Armadillo caught my eye.

Miss 4 has been delighted not just with the story, but with the gorgeous illustrations too. And in the story, there’s knitting! I love me a good knitting story. And in this story, Talullah’s grandmother knits her an… armadillo.  A pink fluffy armadillo.

Miss 4 is delighted with the illustrations and spends ages looking at the details, exclaiming over new things each time “Look, there’s knitty Mum!”… “Even that cloud is made from knitty!” Seems I’m not the only one who is knitting obsessed: me, Miss 4, and the illustrator of Milo Armadillo makes three.

What a fortuitous chain of events to lead us to such a lovely book. I think it will be one we search for on the shelves again and again.

5 Responses to “#18 It’s not just me who is knitting obsessed”


  1. 1 tikki October 19, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Milo Armadillo is a firm favourite in our house!! We all love it, the illustrations are beautiful.
    We gave it to Toby Milo for his first birthday, it seemed appropriate LOL

    I’m glad your girls love it too… you know there’s a knitting pattern for milo, don’t you?

  2. 2 Delwyn October 19, 2010 at 9:35 am

    How long before you have to knit the armadillo??

  3. 3 Virginia October 19, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    that’s a really adorable book! I’ll have to look it up at our library.

  4. 4 sarah October 19, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Wow – what a fabulous book!

  5. 5 Anne October 19, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    That book looks amazing! We’ll have to look for it at our library … actually, we’ll have to join the library, then look for it 🙂


Leave a comment




October 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 360,021 hits