125 today!

This weekend saw the 125th Jubilee celebrations of the school I teach at, New Plymouth Girls’ High School.  I had the pleasure of attending three of the events held to mark the occasion – the Founders Assembly, where Old Girls and current students both attended to look back at the history of the school and learn about what it is like to study at NPGHS now.

I also snuck into the former staff and BOT get together. I hadn’t booked, so just chatted rather than participated in the afternoon tea. It was lovely to meet with former colleagues, and to meet people whose names I had heard but never met.  One of these people was the lovely Ida Gaskin, who was the HOD English more than 35 years ago when *my* former HOD first began teaching. Ida is a legend around these parts, so it was great to meet her.

The final event I attended was an art exhibition by current and former Art teachers, and former students.  There was much to enjoy there, and I was seriously tempted by several of the paintings.  One by former colleague Sarah Sampson, who went on maternity leave a little after me with Miss 4, is really calling to me. I wonder if it sold?  It was lovely seeing one of the Performing Arts rooms transformed into a gallery space – what a great idea.

 

I hope that the 500 or so Old Girls enjoyed their jubilee weekend! It was lovely sharing some of the events with them.

1 Response to “125 today!”


  1. 1 Michelle October 27, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Sounds you had a great weekend! And your prize package looks lovely. Hope I win!


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

