Weekend away

Sorry folks for my recent disappearance!  We had planned a weekend away, and while we managed this, I had also planned to post before I left, and to write and schedule  posts for while I was gone so you would never know the difference. Except I’d look as if I were ignoring your comments. 

But rest assured we had a terrific time while we were gone. It was a long weekend here in NZ – Labour weekend.  Coming in Spring, it can be unpredictable weather-wise, and we have traditionally stayed at home. But this time we planned another jaunt to Foxton Beach, and invited my sister and her son to join us. We planned to leave Saturday morning but the weather was so awesome on Friday we came home, packed up quickly and hopped in the car. It was great to wake up on Saturday morning already ‘there’, and it was a terrific start to a relaxing weekend away. 

Saturday the weather wasn’t quite beach weather – it was a walk to the local park first up, and then  back for fresh bread rolls for lunch – I decided to take my breadmaker with me as it seems like you have more time for baking on a weekend away.  Miss 4 had a trip to the beach before dinner, and was satisfied with that.  Beautiful weather on Sunday afternoon saw us enjoying a lovely beach afternoon, and then the final trip to the beach on Monday was great – the kids had gained so much more confidence with the beach, and Miss 4 raced in and out of the waves, whereas she has had a petrified fear of the water in the past. It was cute seeing her little sister copying her and gaining in confidence too. 

I’d love to share some piccies with you, however I really need to work out how to send myself pictures from my cell phone as I forgot my camera and I haven’t a clue how to share them here. 

The cat was delighted to see us arrive home and we have managed to slot back into the working week with the added bonus of it being a short week. Two days down, two to go 🙂

2 Responses to “Weekend away”


  1. 1 Lynlee October 28, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    what, and you didn’t visit??!! I’m distraught!

    • 2 shortly24 October 28, 2010 at 10:33 pm

      We didn’t head that way, sorry Lynlee! Just straight to Foxton Beach and back. I’ll remember to invite you over next time we’re there though, okay?


Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

