Mildly Obsessional

It’s Spring.  I love spring. I find myself spending hour after hour out of doors in my garden instead of hour after hour indoors knitting. There is still plenty of time to knit too though, but I feel like I’ve got a bit more balance in the daytime.

I am loving my vegetable garden. I even spent some time in my much-neglected flower garden.  But the vegetable garden is the place I gravitate towards.

Some reasons?

My new garden boxes built last summer have been producing ever since. Onions, leeks, garlic, lettuce, peas, brocolli, cabbage, cauliflower, strawberries, blueberries, tayberry, thornless blackberry, raspberry and red currants all in various stages of growth.

The peas have flowers and small pods already.

The back garden is starting to come to life too: brocolini, cauliflower and onions are recently planted on this side, with a well established loganberry plant starting to sprawl out. Brussels sprouts are starting to go to seed – but they finally also have some sprouts on them, so their life-expectancy was extended.

On the other side is a well established NZ Spinach patch which feeds us several times a week and never gets any smaller 🙂  Some small corn seedlings are getting established, as well as some zuchinni plants and snow peas.  The broad beans are doing beautifully and just starting to be ready to eat – we had our first few from them tonight.  Raspberry and Thornless Blackberry canes are next to my asparagus patch, and I’ve got potatoes and yams at the far end, with a sprinkling of leeks in a couple of other places in between.

I am really enjoying trying to grow from seed too, but there are some annoying, if anonymous, bugs that keep raining on my parade. They keep eating my bean plants and ate my cucumber seedlings down to the ground. So now I get to be mildly obsessional about bug management.

7 Responses to “Mildly Obsessional”


  1. 1 Jo November 11, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    WOW Sheryl it’s looking amazing. Crikey I did not realise the NZ Spinach got that big – yay! I’ve just planted mine 🙂 Thanks for the reminder too, I need to move my Logan Berry but keep forgetting about it, best I do that tomorrow.

  2. 2 sb November 11, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    It look soooooooooooooooo lovely!

  3. 3 Virginia November 12, 2010 at 2:28 am

    I’m truly impressed! And quite a bit jealous.

  4. 4 Monique November 12, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Oh WOW that is one beautiful garden Sheryl! very jelly of it 😀

  5. 5 sarah November 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    All looking wonderfully productive! I do like posts about gardens, and posts about knitting… no wonder we’re e-buddies huh?

  6. 6 highwaycottage November 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Your garden is looking great !!! I think it’s probably slugs or snail eating your beans, I’m having the same problem here. I can’t put bait down either as the kids might eat it. Might have to make a snail trap with beer in it, or try the half and orange trick.

  7. 7 hannah November 14, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    wholey moley!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is an impressive garden!


Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 342,207 hits

