My new toy

As alluded to yesterday, I got a new camera 🙂

My sister asked what it was I chose in the end (after a long consultation with her husband), and this is it: Nikon D3100.  I didn’t realise quite how much of a new model it was, but given things get made obsolete so fast these days it’s probably just as well!  My BIL advised me to invest in a good lens rather than get the lens kit that comes with it… but after trying one at the shop I could not believe how heavy it was! A massive step up from my old point and shoot. So I decided to get a twin lens kit as a step into the DSLR market. And if I want to upgrade to the other lens I will do that in time.  For now, I’ve got to get used to the new camera as it is!  I’m lucky my kids think it’s a novelty.  Miss 4 happily posed with her ponies while I put it together and tried out my first shots.

Got to love  a willing model. I *do* wish she had washed her face first though!  Her sister was so unkempt I daren’t put a piccy up for public inspection. Suffice to say she needs to use a hairbrush more often. But something about being two means you can only have your hair brushed when *you* want to, not when Mummy says.

Back to the camera though.  I got it here.  The service and price were great, so they come highly recommended. I feel ever so slightly guilty for not buying locally, but the several hundred dollars I saved allievated the guilt nicely.

2 Responses to “My new toy”


  1. 1 JJ November 19, 2010 at 6:50 am

    That’s a great camera – that shot is amazing – so clear and the colours are wonderful. Well done.

  2. 2 Lina November 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Congrats on the new camera! Nikon is my drug of choice too. 😉


Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

