It just doesn’t matter which way I organise them

these skeins of yarn are just *not* a good colour match.

And I am more than a little gutted.

Before I say any more, I am not going to be getting all ranty the company who sold these to me – I am actually in the process of dealing with their customer services representatives about returning the yarn. I can’t fault their customer service. I am just gutted that I was sent these five skeins in the first place.

Now, I’m quite happy to buy hand-dyed yarn and accept that each skein will vary – that’s the way things are. If I want a nice semi-solid Madelinetosh Tosh DK in, say, Wood Violet, I would at least expect that they all seemed to be the same shade. And these are most definitely not.

Now, I guess that they could have arrived at the yarn store in separate orders, my order might have been supplied from two very different batches. They certainly seem to be. But, I do have to wonder about the role of the person who packed my order at the store and sent it to me. Seriously, if you went to your LYS and bought the yarn off the shelf, would you choose these five skeins to go together? I can’t believe that anyone would.  So, what is the role of the person who selects the yarn and packs it? Are they a shop assistant, or should I be expecting that they are more of a personal shopper?  If someone is buying five skeins of the same yarn, can they not expect that the knitter is wanting them for a garment?  If you were to knit a garment with these skeins, you’d end up with a stripy jersey!  Not quite the look we are usually hoping for. Any knitter surely would think twice before packing such an order.

And then there is the fact that this was posted to me from the other side of the world.  In this case I got free postage, but usually I would not.  Post would usually add another 25% to the cost of yarn I buy. While I’ve been told they will reimburse me for return postage, and resend yarn or refund my money, it all becomes a very expensive exercise – I’ll have close to $100 tied in the yarn before I get any reimbursements or yarn. In three weeks or so I might even get to wind some up for knitting. Oh except the colour I ordered is now on backorder. It seems like it could all have been avoided very easily.

Say these were the last five skeins in stock. I really hope that a retailer would not hestiate to contact a customer and let them know that the colour variations in the skeins were not suitable for a garment and ask if they would still like to go ahead with the purchase, or to choose another colour or yarn. After all, the goodwill they would earn from this contact would earn them far more respect from the customer than the prompt delivery of five skeins that have your heart sink when you open the parcel as you look and go “where are my other two skeins? And I don’t remember ordering these, I wonder what they are?” Followed by that acknowledgment that they really did deliver your order, but not quite as you were expecting it.

So, a bit of a challenge to retailers, especially net retailers – please put yourself in the shoes of your customers! Please be our personal shoppers. We are depending on you to be our eyes.  Think about what the customer would do if they were in the shop themselves.  We will appreciate you for it! Life’s too short for bad yarn.

 No matter which way I organise those five skeins, I just know I would regret the hours and hours of knitting that would go into a stripey jersey from yarn that is *meant* to be the same colour. Much as it pains me to part with yarn, even frustrating yarn, I will be sending it back on its way to the other side of the world, trying not to think too much about global warming and how my yarn issues are adding to it.

9 Responses to “It just doesn’t matter which way I organise them”


  1. 1 Sara November 21, 2010 at 4:54 am

    Oh phooey! ((hugs)) for your frustration! I hope there are some retailers reading this.

  2. 2 Judy November 21, 2010 at 6:04 am

    In this case, I’d probably try and sell them locally (separately, in color lots) in order to reimburse myself, and then email my sister and have her place an order on said website to bring more squishy yarn in her suitcase at Xmas. Just saying.

  3. 5 Amybel November 21, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I agree. And I know what you mean about having your funds held up in the whole process. Let us know when the good stuff arrives?

  4. 6 Fiona November 21, 2010 at 6:46 am

    I’ll take the two on the right – they seem to be a similar dyelot. The other 3 are all different.
    Thats bloody shocking!!!

  5. 7 Julia aka j-j November 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

    It’s really obvious that they don’t match and weren’t the same batch Sheryl. Poos!

  6. 8 Lina November 22, 2010 at 10:17 am

    That really sucks! I hate it when stores don’t match it for you! The Loopy Ewe is awesome for this… they actually called me once to let me know that the yarn wasn’t matching in the quantity I wanted and what I would like to do instead. Excellent customer service!


  1. 1 Little Butterflies « Shortly Stitches Trackback on March 31, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,537 hits

