Christmas Knitting

I’m not knitting too many gifts this year, but I did want to knit some things from stash. So, first up are a couple of gifts for my husband’s family.

For his mother, a lovely scarf. Not my kind of colour at all, but just perfect for her. I snapped this skein of Malabrigo up from a swap box recently, trading it for a colour I had in my stash which I am sure lots of people will love. But MIL has the perfect colouring to carry off a orange scarf!

My father in law has been up visiting, so I asked him if MIL would prefer a scarf or hat – given it’s summer here, the correct answer is probably neither – that aside, he thought a scarf would be good. I decided on the very popular, and free, pattern Drop Stitch Scarf.  I wanted a quick knit as I hoped to send it back in his suitcase.  I needn’t have knitted so fast – his flight was cancelled this morning due to rather inclement weather, so he’s here with us for another day. The kids will get a lovely surprise when they get home from preschool!

Anyway, back to the scarf. I knit this up starting Thursday night, and finished Sunday.  In between I did a good few hours each day.  Including knitting through a staff lunch and farewells on Friday.  So, in maybe 7 or8 hours knitting it was all done. It is lovely and squishy knit up on 5mm needles, and blocked it reached nearly 1.5m long – I was worried it might be too short to wrap, but it’s not. Superb!

For my sister in law, I knit a cowl last year. At her suggestion – so I know she wears such things. For this year, I wanted something similar but different, and I found the Dandy Kerchief on Rav which seemed to fit my criteria – fast in 8ply, fit within the amount of yarn I had, and a little bit edgy. Cool! A complete bonus was that it’s a free pattern.

I used more stashed yarn for this – a Cleckheaton Country 8ply I took from a swap box to make the contents fit a smaller box. I had no clue what to make with it.  And to be fair, a neckwarmer could definitely do with even squishier yarn, but this is certainly acceptable.  I used two balls – and about 1.5m from the third ball.  Which took me three days to find. So, completion took a bit longer than planned! (The ball was on the coffee table the whole time too!)

You can’t really see the cute lace patttern too easily in this picture – but it is lovely and super easy as well.  Here’s an example.

You put a couple of buttons on the long sides of the triangle, and button it up around your neck.  I put on two seriously cute owl buttons – a hint of whimsy, but I think she’ll like them.

Wrapped up and in the suitcase, these will be off to Christchurch in the morning. Where it has been nearly 30 degrees this week – maybe they will get lots of wear next winter though!

5 Responses to “Christmas Knitting”


  1. 1 Fiona December 14, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I’m giving a scarf tomorrow too – and I feel bloody stoopid doing it given the current climate! I’m hoping it will get more wear come winter….

    These are lovely scarves 🙂

  2. 2 Judy December 14, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    What, no knitting for me this year?

    I’m hoping for similar responses on the knitted scarf I’m gifting my MIL, and the fingerless mitts I’m supposed to be knitting right now for the non-SIL. Too warm where they are, but perfect weather for knitting them here LOL

  3. 3 Anne December 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Wow, that orange is lovely! I also, couldn’t wear it, but I still appreciate the colour 🙂

    I too am doing the giving-winter-things-during-southern-hemisphere-summer for Christmas this year- hoping the recipients will be ok that they can’t use them straight away (well, without sweating anyway!)

  4. 4 Virginia December 16, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Love both gifts!

    And, I’m a little jealous of your warm weather. Sigh. It’s well below 0 (Celsius) here today. Ugh.

  5. 5 Caffeine Girl December 16, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I love that scarf. I’ll have to queue it. Dandy Neckerchief has been on my list for a long time.


Leave a Reply

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

