Good and Chunky Dishcloths

I love a good chunky cotton dishcloth for wiping up in the kitchen. I also love a good fast knit.  These dishcloths are for a Christmas gift, and I was able to whip these three up in one afternoon and evening.  One more thing ticked off my to-do list!

If you would like to knit up some quick dishclothes, here is the pattern that I used for each of the cloths – the top two are ‘Dotty”, and the bottom one is “Knotty”

Each has the same list of requirements

25g/35m each of two different cotton yarns – 50g/70m in total. I used Anchor Magicline and other cotton from stash.

5mm knitting needles

Dotty

Cast on 31 stitches using a two strands of cotton yarn on 5mm needles.

Knit 6 rows  and then start this pattern:

Row 1: Knit

Row 2 and all following wrong side rows: Knit 4, purl to 4 stitches before the end of the row, knit 4

Row 3: Knit 4, *k2, k2tog, yo* repeat * to last 7 stitches, knit 7

Row 4: as row 2

Row 5: Knit

Row 6: as row 2

Row 7: Knit 4 *k2tog, yo, k2* repeat * to last 4 stitches, knit 4

Row 8: as row 2

Repeat these 8 rows. ( I repeated them 4 times for a 15cmx15cm square cloth.)

Knit 6 rows.

Cast off.

Knotty

Cast on 32 stitches, using two strands of yarn held together over 5mm needles.

Row 1: Knit 1 *k2tog* repeat * until 1 stitch remains, k1.

Row 2: Knit 1 *K1, pick up strands between this stitch and the next stitch and knit it* repeat from * to last stitch, k1.

Row 3: Knit

Row 4: Purl

Repeat these four rows until cloth reaches desired length ( I did 13 repeats for a 15cmx15cm cloth.)

Cast off.

I’ll pop a project page  up on Ravelry, I’d love to see some pictures of your cloths if you whip some up too!

3 Responses to “Good and Chunky Dishcloths”


  1. 1 Virginia December 21, 2010 at 11:09 am

    I like good and chunky. I think I need to make some more of these. I might teach myself how to knit continental on them.

  2. 2 Anne December 22, 2010 at 10:17 am

    How good does a nice quick knit feel at this time of year- feels like they just fly off the needles!
    Well done 🙂

  3. 3 laura hassler December 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Wonderful patterns! Looking for a pattern to knit that was simple. Will be having hand surgery soon but the urge to knit was in me!


Leave a Reply

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 338,625 hits

