Yes, I do still knit

Contrary to what you might have been thinking, I have neither disappeared off the edge of the universe, nor have I forgotten how to knit. I’ve been knitting steadily through a few projects over January, so I will eek them out so as to keep coming back and posting.

The biggest knitting accomplishment so far this year has been my Cecilia cardigan.

I cast on for this sucker on Boxing Day. Without swatching. Silly me.  I then ripped it back when I realised it was waaay bigger than it should be the next day.  So, cast on officially on December 27th, and I didn’t finish it until January 17th. And I knitted a lot over the holidays. A lot!  There is a heap of knitting in this top!  Seriously – I spent an  entire weekend doing just the body ribbing!  I made it from Vintage Purls sock yarn, in the colourway Taimi, which was  a sock club colourway a few seasons ago.  I adored the yarn, and when I scored a second skein in a swap, I thought I might as well knit something significant with it.  I chose this pattern because I liked it, and I had enough yarn. But I wasn’t sure if it would suit my figure. I like it on now that its done though.

Of course, all of that would be too easy – in fact I did not have enough yarn, something that became apparent to me when I was knitting the ribbing. I stopped the body ribbing ten rows early to conserve yarn (nooothing to do with my ribbing aversion, not at all!) and even then it was clear that I would need more. I was able to get enough to finish from a very kind Raveller, and whilst the dyelot was clearly different, I just used it on the arm ribbing, so I don’t feel the difference is noticable to the casual observer.

I ended up knitting the body quite a bit longer than the pattern recommended – I really wanted it to fit over the boobage!  So, I did fittings as I went, and slowed the rate of increase down on the fronts so they didn’t get too wide. I’m glad I did as I prefer this look to seeing the ribbing up higher, which looks like a mistake to me – I guess it’s the benefits of making something for yourself – a much better fit.

The arms are a bit tight – I’d suggest if you have arms that are less than petite  you might want to cast on extra under the arm and add an extra pattern repeat to the arms. I don’t think you’ll regret it!

Proof #1 I’ve not given up knitting yet. But stay tuned to see what my mum was knitting beside me when I was knitting this.  Check back tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Yes, I do still knit”


  1. 1 Knitterly Anne February 6, 2011 at 5:27 am

    That turned out beautiful, and it’s very becoming. The choice of using your different dyelot on the sleeve ribbing was brilliant. To the extent that you can notice it (which I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have if you hadn’t mentioned it) it looks like a design feature.

  2. 2 theOtherSarah February 6, 2011 at 8:28 am

    I love that, Sheryl! The colour is gorgeous and it looks great on your figure 🙂 Another added to the queue…

  3. 3 Sharonnz February 6, 2011 at 9:16 am

    CUTE knit. Love it and the colour!

  4. 4 Judy February 9, 2011 at 7:37 am

    It turned out really cute! It looked so small bunched up on your needles.

  5. 5 Darcy March 14, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Love the cardi looks so cheerful and comfortable and love the color:)((((Hugs))))Darcy


Leave a Reply

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

