After the Rain Scarf Tutorial

I’ve had a few questions lately about my After The Rain Scarf, especially about the first few rows. I had a look back at the pattern and knit up a sample to check over the pattern. I found a couple of errata which I have put into the pattern, and I thought I’d address the questions here.

Cast on 35 stitches and knit three rows even. – this is self explanatory…

Row 4 and 6 (RS): (p2, k1, p2) repeat to end … I think this is where some people start to have problems.  This could also be written as p2 (k1, p4) to last 3 stitches, k1, p2. I wrote it as I did because we preserve the p2 pattern throughout the pattern/instructions. I suspect some people are mis-reading this. But you can clearly see there are four purl stitches between each knit column in this sample.

Row 5 and 7(WS): (k2, p1, k2) – this the reverse of the previous row. It could also be written as k2 (p1, k4) to last three stitches,p1, k2.

Row 8: (p2, k1, p2, m1) p2, k1, p2 (41 stitches) This seems to be where people are striking problems.  It could also be written as p2 (k1, p2, m1, p2) to last 3 stitches, k1, p2.  In this row you are beginning the bottom of the bud pattern. 

Row 9: (k2, p1) k2

Row 10: (p2, k1) p2

Row 11: as for Row 9

Row 12: (p2, k1, p2, inc4)  to last 5 stitches, p2, k1, p2 (65 stitches) This is where the big increase for the bud takes place.  This is the row where the second error was. 

I’ve not had any queries the relate to any further into the pattern – it’s straightforward decreases from this point to the top of the bud.

I hope these instructions make sense.

Happy knitting!

3 Responses to “After the Rain Scarf Tutorial”


  1. 2 Racquwl Hewitt March 23, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    I’m still have issues with row 8. I’m not getting 41 stitches

    • 3 shortly24 March 23, 2012 at 11:33 pm

      Hi Racquel, can you tell me how many stitches you do have please? Can you see where you’re going wrong? There should be six increases spread across the row, as you can see in the picture on the post – it’s the bottom of the bud that you are forming in this row. If needed, you could separate out each repeat with stitch markers so you can see it more clearly.


Leave a Reply

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 342,207 hits

