On my needles

With my pattern for the 4ply version of the Garden City off to the testers, my needles were free. What to cast on??  I had a sort through my stash, and decided I’d like to knit up the last of my Madelinetosh Tosh DK left over from Miss 4’s Little Butterflies Cardigan.  This was the last of the dark skein of Wood Violet, and I had only used a smidge (the technical, measuring term), enough to do the pocket linings.  At first I had thought I might make Miss 4 a hat from it, but then selfishness took over and I decided to knit a lovely purple Garden City scarf instead.  And I’m glad I did. It’s lovely!

I had a bit less yardage to play with, so I did one fewer repeat for the increases and worked the body of the scarf with 3 fewer stitches – it’s still plenty wide enough to snuggle into, and it allowed me a bit extra length given my shorter yardage.

I am loving this pattern – and I hope you are too! It’s been awesome to see so many sales so far – well over $200 has been raised so far, and I’m hoping that when people’s pictures of their beautiful scarves are starting to pop up that others will want to buy the pattern too.

 

And now, just for a change I’m working on another 4ply version of the  pattern . Why not! 

What’s on your needles today?

2 Responses to “On my needles”


  1. 1 Vicki Gordon April 17, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Hi, was just wondering where do you get the Madelinetosh yarn from? assuming you must get it online somewhere, (and assuming your in NZ!) my shop downtown is hopeless and expensive being in a small town, some of the colours that you have used are awesome…… and it looks as tho its nice and soft comfy wool.

    • 2 shortly24 April 25, 2011 at 11:37 am

      Hi Vicki
      I’ve got all of my Madelinetosh yarn (so far) from WEBS in the US (www.yarn.com) but have just ordered some from here:http://www.littlecountrywools.bigcartel.com/ It is on sale for Easter with 15% off, so I’ve ordered a couple of pretty skeins 🙂 This is a local NZ supplier of Madelinetosh and Malabrigo. Happy Buying!


Leave a Reply

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

