My Creative Space

In my creative space this week I’ve been working on a hibernating project. And just now, I finished off the final stitches of a pair of socks begun over twelve months ago.

They had been sent to the naughty corner for causing altogether too many problems.  The yarn was lovely – received in a swap. The pattern came with it. I wasn’t sure if I loved it. I cast on for the pattern, and had problems. So I ripped back.  I cast on something else instead. Yuck. I ripped that. Rinse and repeat. I finally cast on again for the original pattern minus the patterned toe.  And it was s.l.o.w. going. Every row a pattern row. It just didn’t gel with me. I was poised over the pattern all the time, which I hate.  And when I tried the patterned heel flap, it was the end. Enough. Off to hibernation for this sock.

And strangely enough, when I picked this up on Saturday it just went smoothly. The leg of the sock went fast, and before I knew it I was onto sock #2. Eliminating the problem spots from last time meant this was all smooth sailing. And so now I have a finished pair of socks in time for winter, and one fewer project in the naughty corner. 

What’s happening in your creative space this week? Check out more creative spaces here.

3 Responses to “My Creative Space”


  1. 1 Sara May 12, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    Such lovely socks. Sometimes the most satisfying finishes are the ones that take the longest. (I hope that made sense.)

  2. 2 Caffeine Girl May 16, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I’ve had that experience, too. It’s odd how a break can change everything! I love the color, and the pattern does look complex!

  3. 3 Anne (I should be sleeping) May 20, 2011 at 2:25 am

    What is it about socks – it’s either two weeks (for me) or a year between casting on and casting off/grafting?
    They look lovely 🙂


Leave a Reply

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

