FO Catch Up

Last weekend I got Mr13 to take some pictures of some projects that were finished by hadn’t been posted on here.  They are all knit in Vintage Purls yarn now I think about it!  So, here goes!

First up is the socks I showed you in a post a couple of weeks ago.  They are gorgeous, a pattern called Azure Socks,  which is a free pattern from Knitty’s Winter 2008 edition.

This is a toe-up pattern and starts with a patterned toe. It took me all of four rows to start screwing it up. After the third attempt or so, I decided the a plain toe was the way to go.  And the patterned heel flap went the same way (except I only screwed that up once before abandoning it….).  So, slightly less patterned than the original, but lovely nonetheless.

The yarn was gifted to me in a hand-dyed yarn swap, and it’s a dead-ringer for the colourway in the pattern pictures. It’s lovely, light and subtle semi-solid.  Delicious!

The pattern took a while for me to enjoy knitting. I acutally cast these on early last year. I took them to work with me and knit through several meetings and lunchtimes. I think that was half my problem – because every row is a pattern row, I never had any down rows, which you really need when you’re meant to be concentrating on something else!  Once I picked these up again, it took no time for me to memorise the pattern and away I went.

The pattern uses mock cables – lots of k2tog and ssks, making stitches, and so forth in order to make these lovely sensuous lines.

The next up in the next cast on…

I think I cast on this Dew Point Shrug back in February. I had a good go at knitting it and then set it aside for some time. I picked it up again in the holidays and took it away with me to Foxton Beach. In fact I knit a good portion of the lace rib whilst watching the Royal Wedding. As you do… I then took it home and blocked it, and that’s when things started to go wrong. It’s waaay too big now 😦

Now I’m stuck between two choices – to either rip it back and start again/use the yarn for something else, or throwing it in the machine and dryer in the hopes it shrinks a little.

I’ve been doing neither for a month now. Procrastination wins the day again! 

What do you think?  Vintage Purls sock yarn is machine washable, so it won’t felt, but it might change the fabric considerably? 

Finally, a cute pair of hand warmers. 

 

These are the lovely Veyla mitts I’ve been meaning to try for a couple of years now. Not in the yarn I had aside for them either! The squish purple skein of alpaca my sister bought back from the States for me two birthdays ago is still waiting… 

I actually cast these on for a swap. I didn’t allow myself terribly long to knit them before the swap was due to be sent. I decided to be clever.  And shortly after that, everything – rather predicatably – went wrong.

Yes, Sheryl, you do have to knit one left mitt ane one right mitt. They will be different as your hands face different ways.

Needless to say, I didn’t get done in time, I can’t read patterns well when I’m not trying, and it’s really not the pattern’s fault I’m slapdash sometimes.

So, once I read the instructions all was good. The wee lace panels for the cuffs were logical and I was able to follow the pattern line by line no worries.

And I have to say I utterly adore the thumb increases. Genius!

Just as well I love the pattern since I know I’m going to do it in the yarn I had set aside!  I think these are a lovely project, and a quick one too. If you’re not in a hurry!

That’s the round up for today.  It’s so cool to note all these projects down, as see what my stash is becoming.  I do still have a few more projects to catch up on here, but there’s always another day to post them!

 

7 Responses to “FO Catch Up”


  1. 1 Lina June 6, 2011 at 6:16 am

    Lovely projects all! I think you can definitely throw that shrug into the dryer and it shouldn’t make too much of a difference to the fabric. I would try it first before ripping it out.

  2. 2 Sara June 6, 2011 at 6:22 am

    I quite like the socks without the fancy schmancy toes and heels.

  3. 3 Virginia June 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Ysolda’s patterns always require one to pay much more attention than you initially thing they do. So says the woman who has cast on and knit Damsons at least, oh, 50 times before ripping them out. I actually managed to finish one of them once.

  4. 4 Caffeine Girl June 7, 2011 at 12:02 am

    All beautiful projects! I love the socks, but I’m still working on my first pair of toe-ups. The fingerless mitts are adorable and going into my queue immediately!

  5. 5 pippa June 9, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    oh oh oh! Such beautiful handwarmers I can’t quite breathe!!! I have to stop reading your blog as it does ridiculous things to my knitting-must-do queue.

  6. 6 Rachelle June 9, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I’m pretty sure that the dryer won’t shrink the shrug, I’ve had superwash end up in the dryer once before (thanks DH) and it made no changes that I noticed; in that case if it had I would have been happy; the sock in question was too big before it went in, and when it came out it was still too big.


  1. 1 Shopaholic « Shortly Stitches Trackback on June 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

