Shopaholic

I’ve been a bit of a spendthrift over the last few weeks. My mailbox has been a rather busy, rather yarn-y place this week. My kind of week really!

First up was a WEBS order – I decided to get a couple of garment lots of yarn. And I even chanced my arm at some Madelinetosh Tosh DK. The last time I got a garment lot it was so poorly matched I would not have been able to use it… and have had fun using it up on other knits instead of course!  I’m pretty happy with my five skeins of Baltic though.

Unfortunately with the overcast day the lighting wasn’t good on this for the colour, but you hopefully get the general idea.  I’ve had this colour before and I love it. I think this will be my next project. I deserve some DK or worsted knitting right now!

Another garment lot I could not resist was some Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool. It is 45% wool, 35% silk, 20% nylon and at 192 yards/50g skein it is a lot thinner than  your typical DK but it says to knit it up on 4mm needles. I’ve seen some lovely garments in this yarn on Ravelry, so to get mine at half price ($4.99 US) because it was a discontinued colour was brilliant. I ordered Sage, and it is a very light colour, but something I haven’t much of in my wardrobe (or woolies drawer) so worth a go I thought.

And I wasn’t planning any more yarn purchases after than, until I heard whisper of a sale at Hidden Purls with flat rate international postage. Far too good not to check out. Far too good not to by at!

Gorgeous Madelinetosh Merino Light 4ply, in Amber Trinket

 

Noro Silk Garden colour 258

And a lone skein of Malabrigo Rios in Sunset. I’ve been wanting to try this for ages, and I thought the colour was irresistable!

And it’s not just yarn either – I had a button buy-up too, although in my defence this was bought a couple of weeks ago and I had to wait for delivery…

 

Lovely buttons handmade in Christchurch thanks to Nicci at Buttons by Benji. I admit to being rather addicted to these!  So are my girls, so it works out really well for everyone.

In the meantime I’ve been knitting away with some lovely yarn and will have something to show you early next week all going well.  And I got brave and popped my Dew Point shrug into the washer and dryer and it’s *much* better. Sooo glad I did. I think that the lace was just too stretched out in the blocking process, so this has solved its issues.  I’ll try to snap a picture sometime soon. If and when the rain stops!  Thanks for the encouragement.

6 Responses to “Shopaholic”


  1. 1 Fiona June 10, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Lovely 🙂 I got an amber trinket too, and I think they might be a mixed dyelot as yours look different to mine.

  2. 2 Julia aka j-j June 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I got Amber Trinket from the Little Country Sale earlier this year and loved the colour of it so had to throw another one in my Hidden Purls basket, though I’m sure they won’t be the same dyelot 🙂
    Beautiful yarns Sheryl!

  3. 3 kreachr June 10, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Sooooo jealous of your yummy yarn purchases!!! Can’t wait to see what you make with them 🙂

  4. 4 Vicki June 11, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I know I shouldn’t encourage you, but I would be happy to bring back MORE yarn from the States in October if you want!

  5. 5 shortly24 June 11, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    The Amber Trinket has been on my wishlist for ages and never in stock when I’ve been looking, so this was a real bonus for me!

    Vicki, I’ll have to get knitting if I’m to take you up on your kind offer 🙂

  6. 6 Lina June 14, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Wow, you’ve totally been busy shopping. Love all your purchases, but especially all the MadTosh! 😀


Leave a Reply

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 339,537 hits

