40 bags in… 40 days?

Inspired by some online friends, I am in full declutter mode at the moment.  It all began with a post suggesting we look at this blog, whereupon I read about her participation in a challenge to purge 40 bags of ‘stuff’ from your house/garage etc over a 40 day period… Intended to be over Lent (the 40 days before Easter)… but that particular boat has already sailed for this year, and I really need to declutter NOW!

So that’s what I have been doing for the past week or so.  Taking one area at a time, I’ve been working on cutting down on unnecessary clutter, as well as tidying what remains behind. These pictures aren’t exactly inspirational, but they are very pared down…

Our map collection stays, but I did recycle about 20 out of date accommodation guides and other things assorted papers from in here. I even organised all the stray wires that might have formerly been useful for the video player but no one threw out and I”m not sure if they will ever be needed again… tidied away into a takeaway container…

And the cupboard under the television looks like this…

 

I threw out three huge bags of video tapes from in here, as well as a bag donated to the hospice shop.  I also rationalised the playdough things, and added storage boxes for some craft things. I really need to add more in here from the other arty areas when I get to them. Give me another week or so!

I also had a good go at the kitchen cupboards. We have been looking at houses and contemplating putting our house on the market, so they’ve had a repaint inside and out (pantry is still a work in progress – the doors are off at the moment and the cupboards will get their second coat tomorrow on all the trims.)  I was appalled at the huge bag of icecream containers and lids I pulled out of one cupboard, but pleased to hand them on to a colleague at work who planned a soup making marathon for her holiday activity (we both clearly know how to live it up!)  Old bowls, pots and other items didn’t stand a chance as the ruthless new me had a go at them as well.  The result is a much tidier, much roomier cupboard under the sink.  Blissful.

I’m sure you’re getting the idea – in fact, despite the fact I’m not even a week into the challenge, I’ve already removed 27 bags of things from the house.  By the way, the ‘bags’ I am using range in size from the regular supermarket bag size to a large shopping bag (like the big Pumpkin Patch ones for example).  I’ve lost count on the number of paper recycling bags I added to the pile this week, and I’ve got four more ready to go… cardboard recycling is another biggie, and the local hospice shop is getting a good number of goodies too. It’s not ‘junk’, just not being used or needed by us any more. And it feels great to be getting rid of things too.  I even listed a bulk lot of maternity gear and it was snapped up – it’ s not left the property yet, so it’d not counted yet, but it’s been sitting there for three years unused… about time it went! 

I am so pleased to be doing this – I’ll let you know how I get on. I’ve got big plans for the next few days… Like finishing the mission I started in my son’s room today, hitting the girls’ toys, and their craft supplies too. 

If you are looking for some inspiration on this challenge, take a look here – beautiful photographs, awesome storage ideas, and I love her idea of a ‘scrapbook box’ for each child, where they can collect and store special items in one safe place.  My son now has one, not that he knows it yet!

And yes, my days have been so full of decluttering that I don’t get to pick up a knitting needle until after dinner! Goodness, who would have imagined my holidays would be like this?

2 Responses to “40 bags in… 40 days?”


  1. 1 Virginia July 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

    That is pretty awesome!

    We’ve been going through something similar in our home, although it was mostly due to moving… it sure felt good to get rid of a whole lot of stuff, though.


  1. 1 40 bags in 40 days update « Shortly Stitches Trackback on September 14, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

