Rainy Saturday Afternoon

I’ve been indulging in a little Saturday afternoon laziness today. 

The girls have a new friend, hereafter referred to as the-girl-across-the-road.  She’s 7. 7 is very cool. After all, Dora is 7.  And, well, she seems to like to play with them. Her favourite game is dress-ups.  As in, dressing my girls up from their clothes drawers. Life-size dolls, as it were. Anyway, t-g-a-t-r has been here entertaining my wee ones.  One more in the mix changes things up nicely.

The teen had soccer this morning, but it was at the closest park, and he was able to cycle there himself. And, because of a flat tyre and no-credit on his cell phone, it took him extra long to get home. (Not so fun for him, but very quiet for me!)

The husband and I spent some time painting one exterior wall of the house this morning. But we only have one ladder, so while he remained outside painting, I was free to knit and read magazines.  Ahhh, bliss.

The planets don’t often align this way, but I enjoyed it while it lasted.

In half an hour I’ve got a carful of teens decending for the teen’s birthday celebration (much delayed as he was waiting for a friend to return from overseas). We are plying them with junk food and an all-you-can-eat dinner out – I expect much hilarity and lame jokes.  But they are such good company, with their talk focusing on Dr-Who, Lego and computer games… Not much like I was at that age, but lovely none-the-less.

And things could be worse… I could be out waterblasting in the rain like my husband is, in preparation for our first open home tomorrow.

So, how are you spending your Saturday afternoon?

5 Responses to “Rainy Saturday Afternoon”


  1. 1 Judy August 15, 2011 at 5:25 am

    Saturday afternoon was spent sewing! New cushion covers are being pieced. I have plans for 4, and a cover for the sea chest coffee table. TK put together a train track and is chief engineer. For today (Sunday) he wants us all (with the grandparents) to play Monopoly. I have a bit of back to school shopping to finish (oh no, must visit Target LOL) Still a distinct lack of knitting going on around here.

    • 2 shortly24 August 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      Sounds lovely. I actually spent some time making some new cushion covers too – easy whip up ones, rather than something more difficult. And got to use my now much-ignored snap press!

  2. 3 pippa August 17, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Oh but honey, what’s that scrummy yarn you’ve got there in the pic???

  3. 5 Stephanie August 31, 2011 at 5:50 am

    How’s the Zauberball working out for socks? I’ve only knit one pair so far and have a skein in the Charisma colorway (magenta-black) in my stash, but I was wondering if the socks would hold up since the yarn is only a single ply. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

