40 bags in 40 days update

You might recall that some time ago I posted about the 40 bags in 40 days challenge. When I posted I was about a week into the challenge and had already found and removed a massive 27 bags of things from the house. I kept busy for the rest of my holidays and beyond clearing away unused, unneeded or outgrown items.  There was excavation of wardrobes. There was a massive cull of books from my shelves (parting with books is sooo hard!). There was a much needed sort through of outgrown toys, outgrown clothing, or in my case, now much too large clothing.  By the time I was done there was not a wardrobe or storage cupboard that had not been sorted through and reorganised. 

Some finished photos…

Everyone should have decorative yarn baskets in their houses, yes?

And of course the final incentive for me doing this challenge was that we put our house on the market… buying a house with bigger storage seems like such a good idea.  Looks like we’ll be on the move very soon, so I will having to be packing all the lovely organising into boxes all ready to unpack and reorganise at the other end. Wish me luck!

4 Responses to “40 bags in 40 days update”


  1. 2 Alexandra September 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Wow! That’s a great idea, I really need to get rid of a lot of stuff too. Congratulations, it’s so hard to go through things. I love your bookshelves and I see a few books that I have too 😀

  2. 3 kreachr September 15, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Ugh, I hate moving. But you’ll be very glad you did the clean-out, when it comes time to pack! I totally agree about the yarn baskets – I have a large wrought iron fruit bowl full of yarn, a basket full of fibre, and a glass cake plate full of mini balls of left-over sock yarn in my small apartment. If I had more room, I’d have more yarn baskets!!

  3. 4 Anne (I should be sleeping) September 15, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Mmmm yarn baskets. Look, just so you know, if you ever need to declutter that basket, I’m here 🙂


Leave a Reply

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,564 hits

