FO: Jacques Cousteau Hat

 

While I’m on the subject of knits I’ve neglected to blog… I have a confession to make. It’s not just one or two things I’ve not blogged about… there are literally months worth of items I’ve knit that I’ve not posted on here (or on Ravelry).  Yes, I confess I’m a bad blogger… but that hasn’t stopped me knitting! So, it must be catch-up time. 

So, for today a small, relatively quick knit.  This is the lovely, and free, Jacques Cousteau hat pattern. There are so many men’s hat patterns out there. As this was for DS, I wanted something not too intricate, as I wanted him to actually *wear* the hat. But I also wanted something interesting to knit. So I chose this pattern – because while it is essentially a ribbed beanie with a fold over brim (as per the photo above), the decreases fascinated me…

One thing I love about knitting is the seemingly infinite variations you can use to create a useful object.  And so, funky crown decreases it was!

The hat pattern offers two different sizes – don’t tell DS, but I knit the ‘woman’s’ size for him.  It was 20 stitches smaller, meaning less ribbing… Ribbing isn’t my favourite stitch to be honest! The fit is fab, his head could be a whole lot fatter and it’d still fit. So it all worked out in the end.

The yarn I used was some John Q Heathered Dk yarn, which I picked up for $3 a ball at a Knitworld sale 18 months ago. I’ve had such good value from these balls of yarn – most have become hats, and I love the look that the heathered yarn gives as opposed to a flat solid colour.  It adds a little interest to what would otherwise be a plain hat too, without making it too busy for my teen to wear.  The 50g ball was not quite enough for this hat – just as well I had two.  (No yardage chicken for me on this one!)

This got lots of wear when DS did a stint as a relief newspaper delivery boy, as well on many chilly mornings. Finally, some knitting for him that he likes and wears (after he left a handknit sweater on the soccer field overnight I banished him from my knit-list).  And of course all he had to reward me for it was a few photos to blog… A good deal? I think so!

3 Responses to “FO: Jacques Cousteau Hat”


  1. 1 Virginia September 20, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Oh wow, LOVE the color of that hat. And the decreases are pretty awesome. 🙂

  2. 2 Megan September 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Gorgeous hat! My man would love that. And what a handsome fellow your son is!

  3. 3 nova September 21, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    nice hat! i did one a few years back for DP, and don’t tell your DS, but it kept getting called ‘that nipple hat’ here, because no matter how i blocked it, i couldn’t get the final few decreases to lie flat!!

    (i’ve just worked out that i have at least 22 blog posts outstanding..)


Leave a Reply

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

