FO: Breakwater

Something that I worked on over the winter is this lovely lightweight sweater, Breakwater by Cecily Glowick MacDonald.

Okay, so I finished this in July or early August – the pictures were taken in August when the magnolia at our old house was just coming into bloom (I must say I’m delighted that we have not one but two magnolias at our new house.  Sadly we missed their blooming this year, so that’s something to anticpate next winter and spring). I recall working on this for around a month, maybe I’m remembering wrong. But, it was a very simple knit, as it’s knit in the round, and mostly stocking stitch.

I have to admit to getting very brave – this is the first time I’ve knit with Wollmeise yarn, but I had two skeins of Ruby Thursday of 80/20 twin sock yarn and it seemed a shame not to knit myself something with it.  And, since it was such wonderful yarn, I thought it deserved something plain to let it shine all on its own. I think that I achieved that, if the comments I’ve been getting each time I wear it are anything to go by.

I managed to squeeze a size 42.5 inch out of my two skeins, just shortening the sleeves a little to allow this.  This is, of course, easier typed than done, and did involve quite a bit of frogging to achieve, as I apparently can’t use scales very well. Nevertheless, it was worth doing. The sleeve length works well over a winter top, or with a singlet top underneath for the Spring. Of course, I do wish I’d made one size smaller (the 38.5) since I’ve been performing an ‘incredible shrinking woman’ trick this year.  It has meant most of my knitwear no longer fits me… this is still quite acceptable, but I do have other things I can’t really wear out in public without looking a little silly. I could have had those longer sleeves after all!

This is such a simple knit that there is really not a lot more to be said of it. I guess things like gauge could be helpful… it was knit to gauge, 22 stitches and 30 rows, and I used my lovely Addi Click needles for it.

6 Responses to “FO: Breakwater”


  1. 1 Rebecca November 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

    It looks lovely on you 🙂 Yay for the incredible shrinking women act, go you!! Need to join you on that one in a few months (in last trimester, yay 🙂

  2. 2 the other sarah November 17, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Beautiful colour, looks gorgeous on you. Love the little buttons at the neck.

    Well done on the shrinking! Think how much wool you’ll be saving and how much quicker you’ll knit for yourself 😉

  3. 3 Laura Hemstock Malowaniec November 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Love the sweater and you look great!. Incredible shrinking woman indeed!

  4. 4 Virginia November 26, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Gorgeous sweater! I love that red.

  5. 5 pippa November 30, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Looks fabulous, as do you!

  6. 6 Megan December 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Wow Sheryl, you look fantastic! Lovely sweater too, I will add this to my wishlist.


Leave a Reply

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 338,628 hits

