Yarny Magic

I had the most delicious yarn delivery earlier this week. I had signed up for a Magic Yarn Ball swap, faithfully sent mine away (just a day or two late) and sat back to await my own one. I wasn’t disappointed either – Miss 3 and I opened my parcel to reveal…

A beautifully wrapped parcel. Oh, the excitement! (Oh the embarrassment, I didn’t wrap mine in anything but bubble wrap!)

And inside…

 Gorgeous 10ply hand-dyed yarn, in the most delicious shades of red. I love me a good semi-solid, and I’m such a sucker for red.

Now, the general idea with a magic yarn ball is that wrapped inside are treasures, and that you knit out each one. So, I had to cast on! I chose to cast on a hat pattern I had admired but not had a chance to knit. It is the lovely Brambles beret, a free pattern from Knitty.com. I have used some modifications that I spied in other FOs on Ravelry, so you’ll have to watch this space for the finished hat when it’s done. I’ve got a bit of other knitting on at the moment, so I’m making sure I do some on this every evening – to try to get the parcels out from inside of course!

The yarn was sent to me by the lovely Emma, from the brand new yarn dyers Olive and Emma. Emma has just opened up shop, although she has been dyeing yarn for several years for herself, swaps and the odd custom job. I’ve always admired her work, so I’m delighted to have the chance to try is out for myself.  It is super pretty so far!  You should check out her shop stocking – Wednesdays at 8pm NZ time – so, she’ll be loading stock up this evening.  She’s posted some gorgeous pictures of her work there, along with links of some knit up – I’m sure you’ll love her yarn too if you get your hands on some.

2 Responses to “Yarny Magic”


  1. 1 Anne (I should be sleeping) April 18, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Gorgeous! Brambles will look lovely in that yarn, yay for exciting mail 🙂


  1. 1 FO: Brambles Beret « Shortly Stitches Trackback on May 6, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 338,625 hits

