FO: Making Waves Cardigan

Some months ago I finished this cardigan – in the height of summer. Now that the weather is cooler, it’s time to start wearing it. And therefore, I really should blog it…

So, without (any) further ado, may I introduce to you my Making Waves cardigan. This is a great transitional cardigan – knit in 4 ply it would be ideal for spring and autumn, and hopefully winter too in my new classroom which has a heater that is far more effective than my former classroom’s one!   I used gorgeous Madelinetosh yarn – this is the Tosh Merino Light, in the stunning Amber Trinket colourway.  I have had my eye on this colour since the lovely Lina at Photo.Knit.Dog knit a cardigan in it way back in Feb 2011. I was lucky enough to score three skeins on special mid-way through last year at Hidden Purls, waiting for me to decide on what to knit.  Late last year they had another sale and I had to stop myself buying more yarn when I hadn’t knit what I had already bought. It was just the push I needed to choose a pattern and cast on.

I chose the Making Waves Cardigan as it had caught my eye on several occasions. I like the simplicity of this top-down seamless raglan. the fit across the back and shoulders is just the lovely fitting silhouette that suits the 4 ply cardigan, and the understated ruffles suited the tones of the yarn which is neither a true semi-solid nor variegated, but a complex mixture of amber tones.

As with all the MadTosh yarn I’ve used so far, there were definite differences in the skeins. I alternated though the second and third skeins which seemed to contain a mixture of the tones from the first skein.

The knitting could not have been simpler. I had not a single issue with the pattern and knit it completely as written. What a pleasure to find such an accessible, well written pattern from an independent designer.  Of course, that does make me want to try another of her patterns. I’ve got my eye on the Elphaba Pullover, another gorgeous 4 ply knit. 4 ply is ideal for the mild winters we have in the North West, so I just cannot stop myself from looking at (and buying, and making) knits/yarn in this weight.

 This is just as lovely to wear as you would imagine. The yarn is a single ply yarn, so very very soft. I had worn it a number of times before the photos were taken,  and as you can see it is still in very good condition. There is a small amount of pilling, not anywhere as much as you might expect. Instead it is just delicious cosy.

I am so pleased with this, I’m sure that it will get lots of use in the coming months, and hopefully the coming years.

8 Responses to “FO: Making Waves Cardigan”


  1. 1 Truly Myrtle April 27, 2012 at 7:07 am

    I love the cardigan. The colourway is simply gorgeous! I have a skein of Madelinetosh – my only so far…. but haven’t done anything with it…. yet!
    I also love the hook & eye closures, they look great. You’ll love wearing this knit!

    • 2 shortly24 April 27, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Oh, lovely, I love having nice yarn in stash for when you feel like knitting it up… I’m sure that it’s calling your name!

  2. 3 Sharonnz April 27, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Gorgeous. Love, love, love the colour! And you are looking AWESOME. What on earth are you doing with all your lovely knits that are too big for you now?

    • 4 shortly24 April 27, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      They are sitting in my drawer taunting me, asking to be reknit. Of course with the weather cooling down rapidly I need to do something about it rather than just thinking about it!

  3. 5 Alison April 27, 2012 at 9:11 am

    That is beautiful! I am trying to decide between this pattern and Elphaba at the moment for some gorgeous 4ply cashmere merino I have sitting here.

    • 6 shortly24 April 27, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      They are both so lovely – tough choice Alison. I guess I’d try to think of whether it’s the kind of colour that will look great with other tops or if it’s a the sort of thing that is not as versatile to decide cardigan or pullover 🙂

  4. 7 sarahrmeltdown April 27, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    This looks gorgeous, love the colour, the fit, the pattern, love it all!! I have knit the Simplicity Cardigan by the same designer and found that pattern equally as good!


Leave a Reply

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

