By popular demand- uncharts

Having had a few questions here and on Ravelry about the unchart that I used for my shawl, I thought I’d give you a sneak peak – here’s a look at a couple of pages of the pattern.

You can see each row is clearly marked. The first bit in the blue boxes is the edging. The white boxes are what follows each row up until the repeat starts.  In the pink boxes is the repeat for the first half of the shawl, and the centre white boxes are non-repeated. In bold the centre stitches are marked so that you can clearly see this emerge on the shawl. The layout is reversed for the second half of the shawl’s row. 

Cool eh! 

In the boxes it has marked what you do – so unlike a chart there is no counting of boxes. If you knit 5 stitches before purling one, one box will say k5, the next on p1.  Abbreviations such as kk2 and k2tog are written out, so there is no scrambling for the chart key to work out which one the designer means when you get to a similar looking symbol.

This is such a seriously cool idea – it made things much quicker. I am not scared of charts, but I am aware that they do take a little more effort to read than an unchart – this is such a great way to approach a more complex pattern – the whole thing made so much more sense to me this way.

If you would like to check out the unchart, the link is here.

6 Responses to “By popular demand- uncharts”


  1. 1 sara February 24, 2010 at 12:43 am

    Very cool. I’ve been thinking of attempting lace. I just added this pattern to my list of maybes. Do you think this is a doable pattern for very adventurous, slightly insane lace beginners?

  2. 2 alyssaknits February 24, 2010 at 5:36 am

    This is really cool. It seems I lose the ablity to count when I try to knit lace in the wee hours of the morning or after a particularly long day of work. I’m very intrigued with you’re idea. Thnks for sharing.

  3. 3 Hannah February 24, 2010 at 8:00 am

    thanks so much for this sheryl!!! i will DEFINATELY be using these when i make my gail 🙂

  4. 4 knitterlyanne February 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Thanks so much for this. It’s really a very cool technique! I am suddenly interested in knitting Gail – and also in trying to make my own unchart for any pattern that’s annoying me.

  5. 5 Jane February 25, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Great! Thanks so much for explaining. I like this idea!


  1. 1 Calvados Beret Pattern « Shortly Stitches Trackback on May 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Leave a comment




February 2010
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 360,106 hits