FO: Clapotis

I think it might be official. I suspect that my DH now suspects me of total madness. It is a glorious early autumn day here. We had dropped DS 11 off a a friend’s house to play (yay, he’s making new friends at his new school!) and decided to walk along the walkway and take the girls to the park. I have to admit I’d packed my claptois in the car along with my camera in case a photographic opportunity arose. And so, amongst the play and exploring over rocks, looking at ducks, discovering a new cafe along the way – but sadly not indulging – I made DH take some FO photographs. Yep, he thinks I’ve lost it!  Not content just to knit in the car, I now have new ways to humiliate him in public. And, while I thought we could have some nice pics with sea in the background, he tried to pose me against a railway bridge. Sigh. Not exactly what I had in mind dear!

So… My Clapotis.

dscf4316

It was knit from about 140g of handdyed Paton’s Bluebell yarn, which is a 5 ply. The yarn was part of the last yarn swap I particpated in,  blogged about here. Knit on 4mm needles (Knitpicks Harmony interchangeables)

I had a good look around Ravelry to see who had done a sock weight Clapotis before, and there were plenty of inspirational FO’s.  For mine, I decided to do the full number of repeats for increasing – and in fact ended up with 14 instead of 12 because I got a bit carried away. Instead of increasing the straight section to 14 repeats, I stuck with the 12 in the pattern as I didn’t want to run out of yarn – I had three balls, so was trying to end this section equivalent to where I’d begun it on the previous ball.  Then I did the 14 decreases and had a small amount of yarn left over – maybe 10 or 15 grams.

I like the extra width, it makes it snuggly.  And the length is good too – not so much it’s clunky. Finished size is 40cmx 110cm. Blocked. As you would have noticed from the previous post, blocking is pretty much essential for making the finished item look finished!

dscf43241

A friend asked me if I’d enjoyed dropping the stitches.  Oooh yes! I have to say that since you knit about a third of the pattern before you start dropping them, there is quite some anticipation that accompanies the dropping.  Well worth it for the result I think.

dscf4330

The Clapotis got its first proper outing last night too – Nyree invited me over to knit with her, and it was a tiny bit chilly so I thought it could come too. I am pleased to say that it survived (intact!) a slight altercation with a rather cute, overenthusiastic black lab puppy- I’d forgotten just how cool I was until she reminded me 😀  Only one of many chances to wear it I hope!

 

dscf4321

9 Responses to “FO: Clapotis”


  1. 1 SweetP March 14, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Very nice!!! Love the outdoor FO pics too, well done Dh. Its a really pretty colour too

    I’m 1/3rd through mine and put it in timeout for awhile, was just getting a bit tedious plus I ran out of yarn so wanted to wait until I could get some more (thank goodness for my Mum!)

  2. 2 shortly24 March 14, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    I understand time out! Now the Clapotis has been finished, I’m forced to rescue my Slinky Ribs (which I love) and finally put sleeves on it. Am on Row 2 as I type… Procrastinating already 🙂

  3. 3 erin's artsy crafty side March 15, 2009 at 3:39 am

    That is one lovely wrap. I love the colours. I love the look. It’s just gorgeous.

    Looks like you had some awesome weather, as well. It’s just turning towards Spring here in Canada, and I am looking forward to leaving the house without having to bundle up in two hundred layers.

  4. 4 Judy March 15, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Very nice FO and some nice pics. I too am blessed with a DH without the photography gene, and an attitude that makes it impossible to get nice modeled FO photos. I impose upon my friends and the fence LOL.

  5. 5 Amybel March 15, 2009 at 4:42 am

    The colors really pop in the sunshine! Nice job. I’m amazed at how quickly you get your projects done:)

  6. 6 Natalie March 15, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Gorgeous, and you’re looking great too 😀

  7. 7 TStone March 21, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Your Clapotis looks beautiful.
    I must be the only knitter on the planet who hasn’t made one yet.
    I’m inspired to get busy on one!

  8. 9 Jen March 31, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Very nice! Never heard of a clapotis until I went on Sweetp’s blog, she referred me over here. I like the color and the pattern


Leave a comment




March 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 360,101 hits