Free Pattern: After the Rain Scarf

 My leftover Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage inspired me to create a pattern especially to use it up.  I hope you like it! My friend Julia came up with the name for me, thanks so much! I was feeling a bit stuck and she suggested the name as the colour reminded her of a beautiful blue day after the rain.

The pattern calls for worsted weight yarn, but in reality it could be knit up in any weight, and the DK yarn that is common here in New Zealand would be fine in this. I used 4.5mm needles, but DK weight on 4mm would work up fine.

You can use the pattern as below or it will be available as a PDF download on Ravelry too – I’m just uploading the pattern now.

After the Rain Scarf by Sheryl Greenfield

 

Materials: 100g Worsted Weight yarn or DK weight yarn

Sample is knit in Madelinetosh  Tosh Vintage, colourway Baltic.

4.5mm Needles

Gauge: 5 stitches per inch in reverse stocking stitch

Length: approximately 37 inches or 95cm.

 

 

Abbreviations:

K: knit

P: purl

Ssk: slip two stitches onto right needle then knit them together by inserting left needle through both stitches at once

K2tog: knit into two stitches at once

Sl1: slip one stitch onto the right needle without knitting it

Psso: pass the slipped stitch over the knitted stitch on the needle, decreases the number of stitches on the needle.

Inc4: into the next stitch knit, then purl, then knit, then purl, and then finally knit the stitch – so the one stitch is now five stitches

M1: Knit into the back of the bar between the current stitch and the stitch on the needle

 

Instructions:

Cast on 35 stitches and knit three rows even.

Row 4 and 6 (RS): (p2, k1, p2) repeat to end

Row 5 and 7(WS): (k2, p1, k2)

Row 8: (p2, k1, p2, m1) p2, k1, p2 (41 stitches)

Row 9: (k2, p1) k2

Row 10: (p2, k1) p2

Row 11: as for Row 9

Row 12: (p2, k1, p2, inc4) p2, k1, p2 (65 stitches)

Row 13, 15 and 17: (K2, p1, k2, p5) k2, p1, k2

Row 14 and 16: (p2, k1, p2, k5) p2, k1, p2

Row 18: (p2, k1, p2, ssk, k1, k2tog) p2, k1, p2 (53 stitches)

Row 19: (k2, p1, k2, p3) k2, p1, k2

Row 20: (p2, k1, p2, sl1, k2tog, psso) p2, k1, p2

Row 21: k2, p1 (k5, p1) k2 (41 stitches)

Row 22: p2, k1 (p5, k1) p2

Repeat rows 21 and 22 until approximately 2/3 of your yarn is used up or the scarf is 2/3 of the desired length.

Cast on for second end and knit as to row 22.

Repeat rows 21 and 22 until second end is 6 inches long. You can make this section longer for a longer scarf.

Then work across 19 stitches in pattern, p2tog

Turn and work back across these 20 stitches in pattern. Repeat until this section is 3 inches long.

Cut yarn and work remaining 20 stitches in pattern, repeating until this section matches the other side. Then, working a wrong side row, knit in pattern across these 20 stitches. Cast on 1 stitch and work across the other 20 stitches.  Work three more rows or until your yarn is nearly run out or scarf reaches desired length.

Using both sets of live stitches, graft the two halves of your scarf together. It is easiest to do this on the reverse of the scarf where most of the stitches are knit stitches. Make sure to graft the purl stitches in reverse to preserve the pattern on the front of the scarf.

Wet block by washing and pinning out in shape to dry.

 

23 Responses to “Free Pattern: After the Rain Scarf”


  1. 1 Hannah June 6, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    It is beautiful sheryl!!!!!!!!!!!!! welldone!

  2. 2 Renee June 6, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    gorgeous, goes so well with your hat!

  3. 3 Kate June 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Lovely lovely! Another fab pattern. Can’t wait to try it sometime soon.

  4. 4 Julia aka j-j June 6, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    I agree with what everyone else says, it’s beautiful, and lovely of you to offer it as a free pattern too. Who takes your photos too, is it somehow you? They are always so fab!

  5. 5 Caffeine Girl June 7, 2010 at 1:07 am

    It’s VERY pretty. Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. 6 Sara June 7, 2010 at 1:23 am

    I love it! Thanks for sharing it! I’ve got it in my Ravelry faves.

  7. 7 thea June 7, 2010 at 1:48 am

    Very pretty! You should share it on the Madeline Tosh group on Rav…. (if you haven’t already :-))

  8. 8 Maria January 3, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    This is a pretty scarf but there are a few errors in the pattern. At the end of row 12 there is an error. I think that it was supposed to be k2 p1 k2, to finish the row. The 2nd error is in row 18. Should be Row 18: (p2, k1, p2, ssk, k1, k2tog) p2, k1, p2 (53 stitches).

  9. 9 Jeanne January 12, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Hi
    This is a lovely scarf. I am a new knitter with lots of crochet experience. I can figure out the instructions…should there be more purl stitches between the knit stitches in rows 4-7? Thanks.

  10. 11 charlotte February 18, 2011 at 4:42 am

    I started making your scarf, I think it is very pretty, but I am having a problem with row 8. If you follow the pattern instructions, after the m1 it will not continue with the knit 1 vertical row that runs all the length of the scarf. I understand that I am supposed to loose every other one of the vertical k1 rows but it will not continue with the other vertical rows. Help!Thanks, Charlotte

  11. 12 charlotte February 23, 2011 at 9:32 am

    HI, I recently posted a question about the rain scarf. I see where you responded to another knitter telling her to see your answer sent to me, however I have not recived it and cannot read it on your page. Would you please respong again, Thanks Charlotte

  12. 13 Robin March 5, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hi, I am also a new knitter (well, returning to knitting after a 10 years pause from being taught it as a tween) but I have lots of crochet experience.

    I am having the same problem as Charlotte. When I reach row 8, it messes up the k1, p2/p1, k2 pattern. I tried doing it you way, and then I tried doing it my way,a nd I’ve had to restart the entire project twice now. Can you please tell us exactly how to work row 8? (I would really love to make a scarf like this for myself!

    Thank you!

  13. 14 shortly24 March 13, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve just posted a tutorial post to my blog which will hopefully help with any confusion over Row 8. Sorry for the delay.

    After the Rain Scarf Tutorial

  14. 15 Leta March 23, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Sheryl – I’ve been knitting a long time, but usually just use the ‘old’ kinds of yarns – not into the new good stuff yet. Can you tell me what the yarn is that you show at the top of this blog? Thanks

    • 16 shortly24 March 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Hi Leta, the yarn at the top of the blog is all sock yarn, and it is all NZ yarn too – all three balls are Vintage Purls – the pink and green were dyed by her, and I did the purple myself. Gorgeous stuff – and it’s such an old picture that I can say I have actually knit up all three balls too! The pink and green became socks – the pink is Dolce, the green became a lovely pair of Kai-Mei socks (pattern by Cookie A), and the purple was a wee shawlette, which is so super soft and squishy.
      There are so many delightful yarns out there, I hope you get to play with some of them – they really are a joy to knit with.

  15. 17 Leta March 24, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Thanks for the info. I am looking forward to trying new yarns.

  16. 18 Annabel July 22, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Hi Sheryl,

    Lovely pattern, and I’m almost finished, but having a massive problem with the grafting! I’ve only grafted stocking stitch before, and I can’t get the ribs to line up. I’ve been doing it with the WS facing out, so most are K stitches. Then a p on front needle then a k on the back needle, then kp on front, pk on back. I’m sure I’m doing it the right way around but the rib is 1/2 a stitch out of alignment. Have you got a tip for this?

    Thanks.

  17. 20 Moriah December 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Hello, I’m new to knitting, and I don’t understand how you inc 4 on row 12, could you please help?

    • 21 shortly24 December 23, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Hi
      If you’re quite new to knitting you might not have done a ‘kfb’ or ‘knit front and back’ increase – where you knit into the front and then into the back of a stitch… this is similar in that you keep using the same stitch to knit and purl into *without* dropping it from your left needle – so you knit, then purl, then knit, then purl, then knit, THEN you finally drop that stitch and move onto the next one.
      I hope this helps!
      Sheryl


  1. 1 You get what you pay for « The Man Who Knits Trackback on February 13, 2012 at 7:13 am

Leave a comment




June 2010
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 360,101 hits