Blogtober #5: Too much wordplay

Picture 3182

So, you know all about Blogtober, the one where I go on and on and on and on for the month of October, faithfully blogging away until you are well sick of me. That’s the first play on words. Fun. But it’s not all I’ve signed up for this month. Oh no. I’m fearless. Not scared of overcommittment, massive research essay due dates or anything. Not me.

I’ve signed up for Socktoberfest too.

Well, it was kind of predictable really. I do seem to have  a small obsession with hand knit socks. And sock yarn. And sock patterns.  So, a whole month celebrating hand knit socks is like a month of heaven for me. I was sure that surely someone would have rhymed October with “Socktober” and made a wee Ravelry search and came across the Socktoberfest group. It turns out that they are celebrating their fifth anniversary this year. You can find about more about it here on Lollygirls’ blog.

And what an awesome group of knitters they are! Not all are hard-core sock knitters – for some, Socktoberfest is the only time they knit socks. Some are participating in a mystery sock KAL, others have bold personal goals. And they are super easy going – want to finish WIPs? Sure! Want to knit kids socks only? Sure! Feel like crocheting socks? Great! Want to knit a pair a week? Why not!  Everyone is encouraged and the socks are celebrated.  So, if you’re a Raveller, check out the Socktoberfest group and give the knitters some encouragement and praise.

All of this fits in really well with what was on my needles and on my mind already. I noted that before we left for our trip last week, I grabbed a cake of yarn, my Cookie A sock book and a needle so that I’d have a little project for car knitting. I cast on for the popular Kai-Mei socks with my “Chlorophyll” sock yarn from Vintage Purls. The colour nearly matches the one in the book’s photograph, which was unintentional, but I am loving the depth of colour in this pair. And while I’m not the biggest fan of knitting ribbing, I had plenty of down time while travelling to fill and it really flew by. The wee pattern on the foot is super simple and I found myself working without the chart from the second repeat.

I think that they are simple but effective. Another great Cookie A pattern.

 

Picture 3183

 

Now, you all know how much Miss 3 likes her handknit socks. Do you know how much she likes mine? Here’s a clue.

Picture 3186

12 Responses to “Blogtober #5: Too much wordplay”


  1. 1 Lisa Liddell October 5, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Thoses socks are perrrrty!

    I wish I wore socks, but its nothing by thongs and slip ons here.
    Ha

  2. 2 Darcy October 6, 2009 at 12:21 am

    I love them so pretty:) Hugs Darcy

  3. 3 Judy October 6, 2009 at 4:05 am

    Cute (socks & niece). Have much trouble getting that blankie away from her for a wash?

  4. 4 Kate October 6, 2009 at 6:20 am

    I love the socks! Pattern + pretty yarn = Perfect Harmony!

  5. 5 Hannah October 6, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Oh i love that pattern!
    I am still umming and ahhing on what pattern to start out with! all the “basic” patterns are too boring for me and i want somethign interesting. 🙂
    would these fit the bill for a first time sock knitter?

  6. 6 Amybel October 6, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Cute! I NEED to start doing socks!

  7. 7 Virginia October 6, 2009 at 10:10 am

    I still haven’t quite gotten to the point where I’ve cast on for my socks yet, but soon. I promise. Soon. You’re inspiring me. Plus my feet are starting to get cold.

  8. 8 Kelly October 6, 2009 at 10:47 am

    They are gorgeous Sheryl! Would you believe it…….I’m joining in on Socktoberfest!?! I’m doing the Through The Loops Mystery Sock KAL, and it’s fabulous! New clue comes out each Thursday, and I have so far managed the first clue for one sock….just about to put that sock on to waste yarn so I can have my other socks first clue done in time to carry on with next weeks clue 🙂

  9. 9 sparedes October 6, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Great socks! And I love the smiley girl in the last picture.

  10. 10 Vicki October 6, 2009 at 11:18 am

    They have turned out great! Love the colour

  11. 11 Lina October 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    These are lovely! I’m unofficially taking place in Socktoberfest as well… will try to knit as many socks as I can. Good luck to you!

  12. 12 nova October 6, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    gorgeous! can’t wait to see what else you create this month! might join in too, if only to finish my lonely tofu sock lol!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 360,104 hits